276°
Posted 20 hours ago

The Mirror Man: The most chilling must-read thriller of 2023

£7.495£14.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

The major plot of the novel follows Pamela and Martin as they try to work through Martin’s mental blocks and PTSD to unlock his memories of the night, while also trying to rebuild their lives and potentially adopt a teenage girl before she ages out of the foster system.

To calculate the overall star rating and percentage breakdown by star, we don’t use a simple average. As the police race to track down Jenny’s killer another young woman, Mia, goes missing and the tension really picks up a pace. The well-written story and the incredible characters, combined with unnerving action, culminates in an astounding conclusion. So you don't have to be a rocket scientist to figure out that these two different storylines will come together. A few other patients we meet in his psychiatric ward all exhibit dangerous mannerisms and the book only focuses on how dangerous they are to other people.He still makes mistakes and has difficulty relating to other people, as evidence by his relationship with his daughter, Lummi, in this book. While the books do embrace the trope of a single characters who is needed to solve every problem, Joona is not perfect. It is not a spoiler by now, but Jurek’s actions during that book lead her to attempting suicide at the end of the story is an immensely enrapturing moment that left readers dying to know what happened to her.

Cutting to the present day, Pamela is balancing her ongoing grief with her desire to move on, while Martin’s trauma at falling through the ice with Alice, but being rescued, has resulted in a severe form of PTSD. As the story continues, and the depths of his depravity become known, we also learn that Caesar continually rapes and murders countless girls, kidnapping more and more. After the events of Lazarus, The Mirror Man sees him struggling to reconnect with his daughter due to her seeing him kill Jurek Walter. It seems almost impossible for the police to get him to reveal what he saw the night Jenny’s body was disposed of. You can change your choices at any time by visiting Cookie preferences, as described in the Cookie notice.

Linna finds ways to get inside the heads of the most heinous killers and gets to the root of the crime. Not sure how I got into this series but hard to believe I have read all 8 books and enjoyed most of them. Seems I have joined the party rather late; this is the 8 th book in the series and only the first one I have read. It is not clear how much time has passed between books, but The Mirror Man sees Joona Linna back to working full-time as a police detective as he encounters a new, dark mystery dating back several years.

Thanks to Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group – Knopf and the writing team of Lars Kepler for a digital ARC of this novel via NetGalley and the opportunity to provide an honest review. This could have been a 4 star, but I’m that person who knocks off stars due to bad representation of minorities. Making Martin’s mental illness a key plot point is a risky move in a crime novel, but he is mostly treated with care and thoughtfulness.

When Jenny’s body is found hanging in a playground five years later, questions emerge as to where she has been and how she make it to the playground. From the 17 million copy global bestseller Lars Kepler comes the darkest, most chilling crime thriller of the year - perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo, Ragnar Jonasson, and Alex North's The Whisper Man. As the police close in on the killer, Mia and her fellow captives are plunged into ever greater danger, and Joona finds himself in a seemingly impossible race against time to save their young lives.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment